Maine Equine
Who to call or write, where they are, what they do....
The following is a list of officials to call and ask why this issue is continuing to go on after over three years of "monitoring" by the State Animal Welfare Department....
This page was last updated: April 24, 2017

  •    Governor Paul LePage:  
207-287-3531 or toll free  855 721 5203
Email:  Governor@maine.gov 
Office of the Governor
1 State House Station
Augusta, ME   04333

  •    Janet Mills, Attorney General
207 626 8599 (O)  207 287 3845 (Fax)
Email:   Janet.T.Mills@maine.gov
6 State House Station
Augusta, ME   04333

  • Commissioner Walter E. Whitcomb
207 287 3200
Email: walt.whitcomb@maine.gov
Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry
28 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0022

  • Ellis Additon, Dept. Agriculture - Bureau Director 
207 287 7574
Email:   Ellis.Additon@maine.gov 
Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry
28 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333

  • Liam Hughes, Director, Animal Welfare Department
207-287-3846
877-269-9200 (Toll Free)
Email:  Liam.hughes@maine.gov
90 Blossom Lane
Augusta, ME   04333

FYI - Liam Hughes reports to Ellis Additon - Ellis and Liam report to Commissioner Whitcomb

  • District Attorney Todd Collins
207 498 2557
Email:  Todd@Aroostook.me.us

  • Deputy District Attorney Carrie Linthicum
207 764 0524
Email:  Carrie@Aroostook.me.us

  • Town of Houlton Town Manager, Butch Asselin
207 532 7111
Email:  town.manager@houlton-maine.com

NOTE:  Town Manager, Butch Asselin was the police chief for the Houlton Police Dept. from 2007 - April 2014, when he took on the added responsibilities of Town Manager. He would have been Police Chief during previous years of complaints and incidents concerning this farm.

  • Sheriff Darrell Crandall
207 532 3471
Email:  darrell.o.crandall@aroostook.me.us
Aroostook County Sheriff's Department
25 School Street
Houlton, ME  04730


  • Police Chief, Tim DeLucca
207 532 2287
Email:  chief.tim.deluca@houlton-maine.com 
97 Military St
Houlton, ME 0473

  • Gordie Hagerman, Head Selectman
207 583 9862 (Town Office)  207 538 4358 (days)
  • Animal Control Officer, Randy Schools
207 538 8140
Town of Littleton
1536 US Highway 1
Littleton, ME  04730

FYI - some of the horses at this farm are on lands in the Town of Littleton and the owner of the farm, the house, barn and most of the rest of the horses are in the Town of Houlton.




This link will take you to a list of the members of the Standing Committee for the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry.  This Committee is responsible for oversight of the Animal Welfare Department...  Please let them know your concerns and thoughts...  http://legislature.maine.gov/house/jt_com/acf.htm


MORE PEOPLE TO CONTACT: